Due to the pandemic, we couldn’t hand out the traditional Junior Awards in Spring 2020 because all the students were learning remotely from home.

However, all the Junior Award Recipients from last spring are back in school this fall as Class of 2021 Seniors, so we wanted to ensure they were still honored with their awards. Now that school is reopened they came down to collect their awards and get their picture taken with Principal Shull.

A description of each award and the Ichabod Crane High School student recipients are below. Congratulations to all of them on their belated honors from the 2019-2020 school year! Scroll all the way down for their pictures.

PS: Please note these are not all the 2019-2020 Junior Award Recipients, there are still more to be handed out and we will update this page as they come in.

Clarkson School Scholars Awards

Awarded to Scott Race (Clarkson School Scholars Award), Aidan Swere and Austin Zlomek (Leadership and Achievement Awards)

Clarkson School Scholars Award is for students interested in pursuing an early college program. The scholarship provides a yearly monetary award and can be used up to four years while attending the Clarkson School and Clarkson University.

The Clarkson Leadership and Achievement Awards recognize junior students who demonstrate strong leadership qualities, positively impact their school and local community, and have a strong academic record.

Elmira College Key Award

Awarded to Darby Siver

The prestigious Elmira College Key carries a scholarship value of $80,000 ($20,000 per year) for Key winners who choose to enroll at Elmira College. This award represents outstanding school and community leadership and academic rigor.

Western New England University Book Award

Awarded to Gabriel Kelly

This award is traditionally given to a student who shows a high level of leadership through extracurricular activities and community service. The recipient of this award is chosen by the faculty and staff at Ichabod Crane High School. Western New England University provides a book and an award certificate to honor the recipient who best personifies the aforementioned traits. The book provided is the same text the incoming Western New England first year class utilized for their summer reading assignment this past school year. Educated by Tara Westover is a memoir that describes a “universal coming of age story that gets to the heart of what an education offers: the perspective to see one’s life through new eyes, and the will to change it.” Educated was selected to offer opportunities for students to generate scholarly discourse, as well as examine personal perceptions, values and attitudes.

Wells College 21st Century Leadership Award

Awarded to Emma Stigi

Each year, a distinguished group of students is selected and recognized by Wells College for their leadership ability, community involvement and academic excellence. The 21st Century Leadership Award program is designed to honor these students who embody the spirit, integrity and intellectual qualities of strong leaders and grant them a $40,000 Scholarship for leaders for four years of study at Wells College.

2020 Student Sage Scholarship

Awarded to Miah Nooney, Sarah Dugan and Erin Curry

The award was created to recognize the characteristics of academic excellence, student leadership and community involvement that have defined Sage students for nearly a century.

Award recipients are nominated by their school counselors, teachers or administrators. Each exemplifies Russell Sage’s Motto, “To Be, To Know, To Do”. Award winners are guaranteed a minimum of $60,000 in scholarships during the four years of study at Russell Sage College.

Rensselaer Medal & Scholarship

Awarded to Austin Zlomek

For more than 90 years, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute has awarded the Rensselaer Medal to promising high school juniors who have distinguished themselves in mathematics and science. The Medal was first presented in 1916 with two purposes: to recognize the superlative academic achievement of young men and women, and to motivate students toward careers in science, engineering and technology. One Rensselaer Medal is offered at each of more than 2900 participating secondary schools throughout North America, Latin America, Europe, and Asia.

To be honored with the Medal, a student must be a member of the junior class, an outstanding student in mathematics and science and also demonstrate potential for success in a challenging academic setting.

St. Michael’s College Scholarship and Service Book Award

Awarded to Logan Dunspaugh and Gabriella Two-Axe

The award recognizes outstanding students who demonstrate a commitment to volunteerism and leadership in their community service endeavors, and academic achievement. They may also be considered for a scholarship at Saint Michael’s College ranging in amounts from $13,000 to full tuition, contingent on acceptance to the college.