¡Traduzca esta pagina!

Congratulations to all of the Ichabod Crane 11th grade students (and one sophomore) who received end-of-the-year Junior Awards and Scholarships!


Elmira College Key Award

Victoria Slade
Ichabod Crane High School is pleased to announce the recipient of the Elmira College Key Award: junior, Victoria Slade.

The prestigious Elmira College Key carries a scholarship value of $80,000 ($20,000 per year) for Key winners who choose to enroll at Elmira College. This award represents outstanding school and community leadership and academic rigor. Victoria is pictured with ICHS Principal Craig Shull and Assistant Principal Marcella Sanchez.

2021 Student Sage Recognition

Emma Greer & Miyah Richards
The Sage Colleges present the 2021 Student Sage Scholarship nomination to two of Ichabod Crane High School’s outstanding juniors, Emma Greer and Miyah Richards. The award was created to recognize the characteristics of academic excellence, student leadership and community involvement that have defined Sage students for nearly a century.

Award recipients are nominated by their school counselors, teachers or administrators. Each exemplifies Russell Sage’s Motto, “To Be, To Know, To Do”. Award winners are guaranteed a minimum of $60,000 in scholarships during the four years of study at Russell Sage College.

Bausch & Lomb Science Award

Olivia Dumont
Olivia Dumont was named winner of the annual Bausch & Lomb Science Award at Ichabod Crane High School. Olivia, a junior, will graduate in June 2022.

The Science Award, a handsome bronze medal, is presented each year to winners at approximately 6,500 participating schools throughout the United States, Canada and several foreign nations. More than 400,000 medals have been awarded to outstanding science students since the program began in 1933.

The Bausch & Lomb Science Award is especially significant because it recognizes the junior student at our school who has attained the highest scholastic standing in science subjects.

As the winner of the Award, Olivia is eligible to apply to become a University of Rochester Bausch & Lomb Scholar. This designation carries with it scholarship funds, the minimum amount being $40,000 ($10,000 per year for four years).

Bausch & Lomb, a worldwide leader in healthcare and optics, is one of America’s oldest and most successful companies, with a heritage of technical achievement and product excellence dating back to 1853. Manufacturing or marketing organizations have been established in 35 countries and products are distributed in more than 100 countries around the world. Bausch & Lomb employs over 12,000 people worldwide and is headquartered in Rochester, New York.

Rensselaer Medal and Scholarship

Daniel Chen
Daniel Chen was named winner of the annual Rensselaer Medal at Ichabod Crane High School. A junior, Daniel will be graduating in June 2022.

For more than 90 years, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute has awarded the Rensselaer Medal to promising high school juniors who have distinguished themselves in mathematics and science. The Medal was first presented in 1916 with two purposes: to recognize the superlative academic achievement of young men and women, and to motivate students toward careers in science, engineering and technology. One Rensselaer Medal is offered at each of more than 2900 participating secondary schools throughout North America, Latin America, Europe, and Asia.

To be honored with the Medal, a student must be a member of the junior class, an outstanding student in mathematics and science and also demonstrate potential for success in a challenging academic setting.

Each medalist who is accepted and subsequently enrolls at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute receives a special Medal Scholarship which is $100,000 ($25,000 annually).

Clarkson University Leadership & Achievement Awards

Nicholas Barkley & Ian Wall
Ian Wall and Nicholas Barkley are the recipients of the Clarkson University Leadership and Achievement Awards.

The Clarkson Leadership and Achievement Awards recognize junior students who demonstrate strong leadership qualities, positively impact their school and local community, and have a strong academic record. Nicholas and Ian will receive monetary awards upon application and acceptance at Clarkson University.

St. Michael’s College Scholarship and Service Book Award

Annabel Cleary & Lukas Seaman
Ichabod Crane High School juniors, Annabel Cleary and Lukas Seaman received the St. Michael’s College Scholarship and Service Book Award. The award recognizes outstanding students who demonstrate a commitment to volunteerism and leadership in their community service endeavors, and academic achievement. They may also be considered for a scholarship at Saint Michael’s College ranging in amounts from $13,000 to full tuition, contingent on acceptance to the college.

Hugh O’Brian Youth Foundation

Lucas Jensen
The Hugh O’Brian Youth Foundation sponsors a yearly youth leadership seminar that “prepares our country’s high school students to become effective, ethical leaders in their home, schools, workplace and community.” The Ichabod Crane High School representative for the 2020-2021 school year was sophomore, Lucas Jensen. HOBY started in 1958 by the legendary actor Hugh O’Brian. HOBY’s vision is “To motivate and empower individuals to make a positive difference within our global society through understanding and action, based on effective and compassionate leadership.” The 2021 HOBY-NYE Leadership Seminar was held virtually on June 11-June 13, 2021 as they were unable to sponsor an in-person event this year. Congratulations to Lucas for being selected as our HOBY candidate this year!

Gellert Cornell Admissions Invitation

Daniel Chen & Olivia Dumont
A program designed to recognize outstanding high school juniors from schools in Columbia, Greene, and Berkshire counties. The program is also intended to raise the general awareness among high school juniors in applying for admission to Cornell University. Students should be in the top 10% of their class academically and involved in leadership roles within school organizations. Selected students receive a Cornell sweatshirt and are encouraged to apply to one of the seven undergraduate colleges at Cornell next fall. ICC’s 2021 recipients are Olivia Dumont and Daniel Chen. Congratulations!

Rochester Institute of Technology High School Awards

Kelsey Greer, Gunnar Grethen-McLaughlin, Madeline Kelly & Richard Tang
Ichabod Crane High School congratulates the following students for winning the Rochester Institute of Technology Computing Medal and Creativity and Innovation Awards: Madeline Kelly, Richard Tang, Kelsey Greer, and Gunnar Grethen-McLaughlin. These awards are designed to recognize junior students who demonstrate strong leadership qualities in their school and in their community; and also to recognize their outstanding achievement in computing, creativity, innovation and entrepreneurship. If the recipients apply and are accepted and enroll at RIT, they will receive a scholarship valued at $32,000 ($8,000 annually).