ICHABOD CRANE CENTRAL SCHOOL VALATIE, NEW YORK 12184

ANNUAL ELECTION AND BUDGET VOTE 2020-2021 Budget June 9, 2020 (Counting of Ballots June 16, 2020)

MINUTES

The election of members of the Board of Education and the vote upon appropriating the necessary funds to meet the estimated expenditures and the vote upon all propositions involving the expenditures of money, or authorizing the levy of taxes, took place on June 9, 2020.

Due to public health concerns as a result of COVID-19, Governor Andrew Cuomo's Executive Order No. 202.26. modified the rules under which school districts could conduct annual school board elections and budget votes. Qualified voters could vote by absentee ballot only and the district mailed absentee ballots to all qualified voters with postage-paid return envelopes.

Ballots were due back to the district by 5:00 p.m. on June 9 additionally via USPS mail by 5:00pm on June 16, 2020.

The Annual Budget Hearing took place on June 2, 2020 at 7:00 p.m. in via Zoom prior to the Regular Meeting of the Board of Education.

Registered voters in the district were deciding on the following:

Candidates for the Board of Education:

Three vacancies for three-year terms as there was one vacant expiring term and the terms of Susan Ramos and Tammy Crawford expire June 30, 2020. The District Clerk received petitions from the following for nomination to the Board of Education:

- Elaine Berlin
- Tammy Crawford
- John Chandler
- Kelly Firmbach
- Susan Ramos

PROPOSITION #1 – BUDGET

Shall the Board of Education of the Kinderhook Central School District be authorized to expend the total amount of $\frac{42,382,980}{542,382,980}$ during the school year $\frac{2020-2021}{2020-2021}$ and to levy the necessary tax therefor?

PROPOSITION #2 - BUS PURCHASE

Shall the Board of Education of the Kinderhook Central School District be authorized to: (1) acquire school buses, at a maximum aggregate cost of approximately <u>\$444,388</u>; (2) expend such sum for such purpose; (3) levy the necessary tax therefore, to be levied and collected in annual installments in such

years and in such amounts as may be determined by the Board of Education taking into account state aid, trade-in value and rebates; and (4) in anticipation of the collection of such tax, issue bonds, notes and/or installment purchase contracts of the District at one time or from time to time in the principal amount not to exceed <u>\$444,388</u>, and levy a tax to pay the interest on said obligations when due?

At 5:00 p.m. on June 16. Chairman Mindy Potts checked the roll of election officials and found the following present:

Election Inspectors: Shirley McThenia and Bernadette Torre

IT Assistance/Zoom meeting management: Len Bates

Assistant Clerks (counting of ballots): Angela Cowan, Amy Boothby, Mena Mazure, Karen Wied-Carpenter, Lisa Schmidt, Katherine Gulisane, Jacqui Cole, Tania Yearwood, Jean Barford, Shawnah Mitchison, Natalie Cammarata, Crystal First

The Inspectors of Election and the Chairman canvassed the vote and reported the following results:

TOTAL NUMBER OF ABSENTEE BALLOTS RECORDED: 3288

PROPOSITION #1 – BUDGET 2020-2021 - \$42,382,980 (Passed) YES VOTES - 2015 NO VOTES - 1246

PROPOSITION #2 - Bus Purchase – at a maximum cost of \$ 444,388 (Passed) YES VOTES - 1862 NO VOTES - 1399

NOMINEES FOR THREE (3) BOARD POSITIONS:

	Total Votes
Elaine Berlin	1879
John Chandler	1646
Tammy Crawford	1635
Kelly Firmbach	1854
Susan Ramos	1166

WRITE-IN CANDIDATE TOTALS Jerry Callahan 3 Geoffrey Benton 1 Timothy Stever 2 Wendy Pulver 1 Patrick Pulver 1 Patsv Leader 1 George Lytle 1 Malcom Bird 1 Todd Johnson 1

Mary Sager	2
John Pollack	1
George Cook	2
Amy Strunck	2
Nancy Patzwahl	1
Bruce Moore	1
Steve Accousti	1
Ashley Hopkins-Benton	1
Melissa Kleer	1
Rip Noblin	1
Brendan Caluneo	1
Matt Torshia	1
Christina Brooks	1
Pat DiGrigoli	1
Dr. H Harde	1
Robert Whalen	1
Marie Lingat	1
Trevor Wolfe	1
Christopher Scoville	1
Mary Ann Silver	1
Kuzehiro Ohushi	1
Anthony Welcome	1
Meg Bortugno	1
Marcia Anderson	1
Paul Keller	1
Pat Gratton	1
Ann Muelller	1
Dennis Heeder	1

The Chairman announced the proposition results and the results of the election as follows:

PROPOSITION #1 Budget 2019-2020 - \$42,382,980 - Passed

PROPOSITION #2 - Bus Purchase – at a maximum cost of \$ 444,388 - Passed

Elaine Berlin begins a three year term (immediately – June 30, 2023)

Kelly Firmbach begins a three year term (July 1, 2020 – June 30, 2023)

John Chandler begins a three year term (July 1, 2020 – June 30, 2023)