ICHABOD CRANE CENTRAL SCHOOL VALATIE, NEW YORK 12184

ANNUAL ELECTION AND BUDGET VOTE 2021-2022 Budget May 18, 2021

MINUTES

The election of members of the Board of Education and the vote upon appropriating the necessary funds to meet the estimated expenditures and the vote upon all propositions involving the expenditures of money, or authorizing the levy of taxes, took place at the Ichabod Crane High School Gymnasium, Valatie, NY between the hours of 8AM and 9PM.

The Annual Budget Hearing took place on May 4, 2021 at 7:00 p.m. in the High School Library prior to the Regular Meeting of the Board of Education.

Registered voters in the district were deciding on the following:

Candidates for the Board of Education:

Three vacancies: one (1) to a three-year term, commencing July 1, 2021 and expiring on June 30, 2024 to succeed John Antalek, whose term expires on June 30, 2021, and two (2) to the vacancies left by the resignations of Regina Rose and Jessica Berner, commencing May 19, 2021, or as soon thereafter as the individual may be sworn in, and expiring on June 30, 2024. The District Clerk received petitions from the following for nomination to the Board of Education:

- Regina Rose
- Jared Widjeskog
- Resa Dimino
- Jennifer Allard
- Anne Schaefer

PROPOSITION #1 - BUDGET

Shall the Board of Education of the Kinderhook Central School District be authorized to expend the total amount of <u>\$43,878,924</u> during the school year <u>2021-2022</u> and to levy the necessary tax therefor?

PROPOSITION #2 - BUS PURCHASE

Shall the Board of Education of the Kinderhook Central School District be authorized to: (1) acquire school buses, at a maximum aggregate cost of approximately \$430,333; (2) expend such sum for such purpose; (3) levy the necessary tax therefore, to be levied and collected in annual installments in such years and in such amounts as may be determined by the Board of Education taking into account state aid, trade-in value and rebates; and (4) in anticipation of the collection of such tax, issue bonds, notes and/or installment purchase contracts of the District at one time or from time to time in the principal amount not to exceed \$430,333, and levy a tax to pay the interest on said obligations when due?

Chairman Mindy Potts checked the roll of election officials supplied by the Columbia County Board of Elections and found the following present:

Primary Inspectors:

Lewis Hotaling, Rhonda Granger, Nataly Dee Jones, Bernadette Torre and Mary Ann Carr- Perez

Clerical Inspectors: Pat DiGrigoli, Madison Seipp, Susan Hotaling, Theresa Lux, Linda Leader, Veronica Siter, and Linda Vinchiarello

The Primary Election Inspectors and the Chairman inspected the voting machines and determined the machines currently had a zero count. The Clerical Election inspectors and the Chairman inspected and accounted for the ballots available for the public. The District Clerk issued the oath of office to the election inspectors.

The polls were declared open by the Chairman at 8AM.

At 9PM the doors to the gymnasium were closed; however, those who were still in line were allowed to vote. After determining that all present in the room had recorded their votes, the Chairman declared the polls closed.

The Inspectors of Election and the Chairman canvassed the vote and reported the following results: <u>TOTAL NUMBER OF MACHINE VOTES RECORDED</u>: <u>1279</u>

TOTAL NUMBER OF ABSENTEE BALLOTS REQURING HAND COUNTING: 6

Total Votes Cast: 1285

 PROPOSITION #1 - BUDGET 2021-2022 - \$43,878,924 (Passed)

 YES VOTES 874
 NO VOTES 402

PROPOSITION #2 - Bus Purchase – at a maximum cost of \$ 430,333 (Passed)YES VOTES -842NO VOTES -435

NOMINEES FOR THREE (3) BOARD POSITIONS:

<u>Total Votes</u>

Regina Rose	573
Jared Widjeskog	689
Resa Dimino	549
Jennifer Allard	730
Anne Schaefer	629

WRITE-IN CANDIDATE TOTALS

Candidate	Number of votes
Meghan Brown	196
John Faso	7
Patsy Leader	2
John Antalek	1
Melissa Brown	1
Remi Gaylord	1
Jerome Callahan	1
Marcel St. Onge	1
Donald Trump	1
Daniel Balon	1
Mike Abrams	1
Meghan Rose	1
Bob Benson	1
Meghan Rose	1
Sam Jones	1
Gail Lafferty	1
William Graziano	1
Pat DiGrigoli	1
Tony Welcome	1

The Chairman announced the proposition results and the results of the election as follows:

PROPOSITION #1 Budget 2021-2022 - \$43,878,924 - Passed

PROPOSITION #2 - Bus Purchase - at a maximum cost of \$ 430,333 - Passed

Jennifer Allard begins a three-year term (May 19, 2021 – June 30, 2024)

Jared Widjeskog begins a three-year term (May 19, 2021 – June 30, 2024)

Anne Schaefer begins a three-year term (July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2024)

All seven current Board members were present at the end of the vote:John AntalekElaine BerlinKelly FirmbachMatthew NelsonElizabeth Phillips

John Chandler Jeffrey Ouellette

MOTION NELSON2ND ANTALEK
To accept the results of the vote as presented by the ChairmanANTALEK - YESBERLIN - YESCHANDLER - YESFIRMBACH - YESNELSON - YESOUELLETTE - YESPHILLIPS - YESCarried, 7-0CARDER - YES

MOTION NELSON	2 ND ANTALEK	
To adjourn the meeting	g at 9:50 p.m.	
ANTALEK - YES	BERLIN - YES	CHANDLER - YES
FIRMBACH - YES	NELSON - YES	OUELLETTE - YES
PHILLIPS – YES		
Carried, 7-0		

Mindy M. Potts, District Clerk

The following documents were available with the district clerk for public inspection

- Listing of voters receiving absentee ballots
- Legal Notice
- 2021-2022 General Fund Budget Document
 - Includes:
 - Appropriations Budget
 - Revenue Budget
 - Complete Budget Summary
 - Three Component Budget (Admin/Program/Capital)
 - Property Tax Report Card
 - Salary Disclosure Information For Administration
 - School District Report Card
 - Tax Exemption Impact Report
- 2019-2020 Audit Report