Board of Education

The Board of Education is the official policy-making body of our school district. Nine members serve on the Board, without pay, and are elected to three-year terms. Board elections take place in May along with the annual school budget vote.

The Ichabod Crane Board of Education can be reached via email at
Emails sent to the above address go to the Board Clerk for further distribution to Board members.

Board Meetings During COVID-19

Meeting Electronically
Governor Cuomo’s Executive Order 202.1 has suspended the provisions of the Open Meetings Law requiring school boards to conduct their business at meetings that allow for in-person attendance by the public. Due to that Executive Order, school boards can meet electronically using video and teleconferencing. Read more in Frequently Asked Questions from NYSSBA on Implementing the Open Meetings Law during the COVID-19 Outbreak.

Therefore, Ichabod Crane board meetings will be held on Zoom for public health and safety reasons. Members of the public will be allowed to view these meetings, but please be advised the district cannot guarantee information provided to Zoom by public attendees will be kept confidential nor do we guarantee that the data transmitted is secure.

Public Participation
At this point, the Board would like it noted that due to the new meeting format and concerns for security during meetings, there will not be a live public comment section in Zoom board meetings. However, the public is encouraged to continue reaching out to the Board via email at any time. Messages sent to this email address go to the Board Clerk for further distribution to all Board members.

The Next Board of Education Meeting(s) Are:

Date: Tuesday, December 1 (Regular Meeting)

Time: 7:00 PM (Regular Meeting)

Place: Primary School Auditorium (Regular Meeting)

Agenda:  December 1 Regular Meeting Agenda

Supporting Documents: December 1 Meeting Posting


The Next Board of Education Committee Meetings Are:

Date: Policy (December 8), Academic (December 14) and Budget & Finance (December 15)

Time: 5:45 PM (Policy), 5:30 PM (Academic) and 6:00 PM (Budget & Finance)

Place: High School Library. Contact for how you can attend meetings virtually.

Supporting Documents: December Committee Meetings Posting

2020-2021 Board of Education Members

          • John Antalek (2021), Vice President of the Board
          • Elaine Berlin (2023)
          • John Chandler (2023)
          • Kelly Firmbach (2023)
          • Ruth Moore (2021)
          • Matthew Nelson (2022), President of the Board
          • Jeffrey Ouellette (2022)
          • Elizabeth Phillips (2022)
          • Susan Ramos (2021)


Student Board Representative(s)

The 2020-2021 Student Board Representative(s) are:

      • Erin Curry
      • Eric (Tismark) Boham (Alternate)


Board of Education Meeting Dates, 2020-2021*

*Please note dates are subject to change

View the full schedule of the 2020-2021 board meeting dates here. These dates were approved at the Annual Board Organizational Meeting on July 14, 2020.